Find Your Love Language | Fedhealth Medical Aid
We are here for you!
Contact Directory
Join the Family Contact Fedhealth Family Room

Find Your Love Language

PostedFebruary 8, 2018

Love Language

Do you sometimes feel as if your partner just doesn’t “get you”? Are there things that you do that often go unnoticed and are underappreciated?

Do you know what your “love language” is, and would learning about your partner’s love language be a class you’d sign up for? No? Well, here’s a thought … What if this is a simple, but effective technique for building and maintaining your relationship? Interested?

According to a corny little purple book named “The 5 Love Languages” written by renowned marriage counsellor Gary Chapman; there are 5 different ways that people show their affection, and he recons this tends to be the way they prefer to receive affection too.

Although originally published in 1992, since then, 10 million copies of this book have been sold, enough to keep it on the New York Times’ best-selling list of self-help books for 167 weeks and counting! Impressive, right?

The concept of “love languages” is a gentle reminder of something that’s easy to forget: The way people experience love differ. For instance, have you noticed that kind words or a compliment could instantly light up your partner’s face and make him feel loved, while you feel cared for when someone lends a helping hand. So, while he’s lavishing you with verbal encouragement, (because that’s what he feels love should be) you’re silently stewing about the unmowed lawn! In his mind your love tank should be full, right? Not necessarily. The only way to fill someone’s love tank is to speak their love language.

According to Chapman the 5 love languages are

Words of Affirmation. This is about vocal affirmation. Think lots of “I love you”, “You’re awesome.”

Acts of Service. For some people actions speak louder than words. This love language is about doing something thoughtful, such as making dinner or filling their car with petrol.

Receiving gifts. This doesn’t necessarily have to involve a lot of cash – even little gifts such as picking up a favourite magazine from the store, could mean a lot.

Quality Time. For some lovers undivided attention is the best gift of all.

Physical touch. This one is self-explanatory. For some, nothing beats holding hands, taking a shower together, or making out.

Truth is, it’s okay to have different love languages – most couples do. We all give and receive love in unique ways. The idea is to identify your own love language (hint: it’s often the way you express love to others, and what you find yourself regularly asking for) and that of your better half; then take steps to speak each other’s language.

Again, quick question … When do you feel most loved in your relationship? Which love language makes your better half feel all warm and fuzzy inside? The idea is to build a stronger emotional connection while not getting lost in translation.

So, now that you know exactly how to hit the bullseye when it comes to showing a little L-O-V-E, use your language skills to improve your relationship. Happy loving!


DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is for educational purposes only, and is not intended as medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. If you are experiencing symptoms or need health advice, please consult a healthcare professional.